Two Notch Immersion Principle

“It doesn’t matter if you’ll never need calculus; you need to take it to learn to think in new ways.”

RJ Martoia, my dad.

Great leadership requires very good communication. This is no secret and has been stated in all the literature on the topic. There are two sides to the communication coin however. There is the “material I communicate” side and the “how well I verbally pass on the information” side. The material side is the focus of this little nugget.

Every communicator sooner or later (usually later) learns good communication down line or to teammates requires you having unusual clarity and command of your material. The 2 notch immersion principle says, to communicate well at a certain level requirees you to be conversant with the same material at least a couple notches above what you are passing on. Take an algebra teacher; algebra teacher training includes trigonometry, pre-calculus and calculus training. Why? Because understanding two notches above gives deeper and greater insight into the fundamentals of what is being explained at the algebra level.

This approach to better communication requires some immersion in the topic if you really want to feel equipped and be prepared. This is true in almost every area of communication. Are you reading 2 notches up in theology and biblical material (you are going to be increasingly asked biblical and theological questions in our postmodern world)? Are you reading 2 notches ahead in how teams develop (you are starting to teach others how to develop teams aren’t you)? Here is the diagnostic question; where do I need clearer communication?

Start working toward that 2 notch higher mark.

One Response to “Two Notch Immersion Principle”

  1. Yo Ron! Thanks for the little nugget and I just wanted to add that sometimes we must use discernment in not trying to bring the people we are leading right up to the edge of our exploraton. I have realized that I tend to, naturally dig in a few notches ahead, and then my excitement with discovery, sometimes, drives me to want to expose the congregation (or other leaders I am developing) to my ‘edge’ thinking. It can be even more dangerous than not being far enough ahead to pull people too quickly into the deep waters of your ‘leading’ edge. I have had to find a few people who I know are hungry to go to the edge with me, in thnking and dialogue, and that helps me keep a better pace with the larger congregation.

    I am excited to jump into 3text!

Leave a Reply

