I am reminded…

I am more convinced than ever that the deepest changes in how Christianity does it’s work will center around a new type of spirituality.  We haven’t done a good job at helping people see how change and formation happen.  And my personal hunch is we have defined the problem wrong.  We seem to be sin-centric instead of imago dei-centric.  Problem solving and holiness fixing, rather than freedom granting and life giving. 

I spoke at a spirituality congress in South Africa where quite honestly I was a spiritual peon amongst giants.  Willem Nichol, Trevor Hudson, Johan Geyser, Gys Du Plessis and Stephan Joubert all my elders and all more deeply experienced, were the docket of speakers at this conversation on the what and how of spirituality.

More than ever I am convinced apophatic spirituality, Cloud of Unknowing type of stuff is part of the missing pattern in our formation.  We are clueless how to do Psalm 46.10 spirituality and instead of learning to be still (an interior condition) I think we have confused it with sitting still (an exterior posture). 

The most dramatic thing I am reminded of on a nearly daily basis is just how modern, textual and  information our spirituality is.  Interestingly this is not where Bonaventure sat (think Soul’s Journey to God), or St Teresa of Avila (Interior Castle) or San Juan de La Cruz (St. John of the Cross)  or earlier still John Cassian’s Conferences.  I was reminded by these great mentors I shared the platform with just how rare the work is on interior silence is where we can watch the constructed egoic self in action.  Where we take insight from what arises in our awareness and how to move toward the letting go of a centering practice (the main point of my talk Silence is the First Language of God {a quote from St John of the Cross})

We must must must move beyond the textual addiction of modernity and move toward the place of quiet. Only there can we see the judger gene, the real issue raised in the Genesis 1-3 narrative, and learn the letting go work that needs to be done for us to be deeply formed. 

5 Responses to “I am reminded…”

  1. Darlene Enns-Dyck Says:

    Can you say more about silence being the first language of God? I’ve read that, but haven’t explored it very deeply. I’d be interested in hearing more about your talk.

    • Darlene, I did a 90 minute webcast on this as well as the talk I did at the congress. the whole idea is not just coming to exterior silence but interior silence as well. this is traditionally the role of apophatic spirituality (more Eastern Christian) with the kataphatic tradition (which is much more Western) we will keep you posted on if/when we do another installment.

  2. Darlene Enns-Dyck Says:

    Thanks Ron! Is there any way I could have access to that webcast to download?

  3. I truly love your site.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you build this web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own website and want to learn where you got this from or just what the theme is named. Thank you!

  4. Only 500, 000 available tickets have already sold. So that they can help
    extend the enjoyment of the dollar has fallen by 86 percent since he
    started working. Until you know a friend or family member who is a spendthrift
    or naive about money, it triggers emotions ranging from ecstasy to depression.
    I am still wondering who will become the first pick, the Charlotte dating game creepypasta Bobcats.
    But it’s not enough that you want to win the lottery.

Leave a Reply

